Various – Overdose Of The Holy Ghost (The Sound Of Gospel Through The Disco And Boogie Eras) (2xLP)

£24.75 IN STOCK

Label: Z Records
Format: sealed gatefold 2xLP
Cat: ZEDDLP028
Released: 23 Oct 21
Media Condition: Mint (M)
Sleeve Condition: Mint (M)


Following on from the likes of ‘Backstreet Brit Funk’, ‘Destination Boogie’, ‘GoGo Get Down’, the well-received and growing Under The Influence series and the ever-popular Soul of Disco albums, Z Records continue to release high quality compilations filled with lesser known disco, soul, funk and boogie. Now ZR returns with a long overdue Gospel album compiled by David Hill. As always with Z Records, they’ve spent time and money to make the masters sound as good as possible so if you’re a fan of compilations from BBE or Dimitri From Paris and their own Soul of Disco & Under The Influence comps then this Gospel album will not disappoint.

Highly sought after, the 2013 pressing of this compilations exchanges hands for up to £140!

A word from David Hill…

“Gospel music has often followed the prominent trends in secular music, probably in the hope of widening its audience by giving the subject matter a sprinkling of cool. In the 60s it happened with R&B and then funk-flavoured gospel, the 70s brought sweet-soul crossovers, and by 1975 the sounds of early disco had started to permeate the genre. This compilation brings together overlooked gospel gems that have their production rooted in disco and boogie, the sound of the early 80s that followed in disco’s wake. It’s only recently that this music has begun to be appreciated by fans outside of its original target market, and I’m glad to help it finally reach a wider audience.”

David began his music career in 1994 as a member of the Ballistic Brothers, together with Ashley Beedle and Rocky & Diesel of X-Press 2. In 1994 he co-founded the Nuphonic record label, where he managed the creative aspects on almost a hundred releases, with artists including Faze Action, Norman Jay, Andrew Weatherall, Maurice Fulton and David Mancuso. In addition to the record label, Nuphonic also produced the Sony award winning London Xpress radio show for Xfm, which led to various club nights.

David has also acted as a music consultant to several record companies, one of these being Soul Jazz records, who he produced a series of successful albums for – in 2004 the ‘World of Arthur Russell’ and more then the acclaimed ‘Soul Gospel’ series. He was also production consultant for Auralux, the London based reggae reissue record label, where he worked with Lee Perry, King Jammys, Sly & Robbie and Linval Thompson.

He continues to work on personal projects such as Rootikal, the monthly roots reggae Night, and has a number of reissue and compilation projects currently in production. He is also currently overseeing the production of a book and an accompanying touring exhibition that will showcase Bill Bernstein’s photographs of New York nightlife in the late 70s.

Mastered and audio restoration – Sean P.

A1 – The Clark Sisters – Everything’s Gonna Be Alright (Joey Negro Edit) (6:50)
A2 – Sharon Johnson – A Better Day (3:27)
A3 – Dan Greer – Love Is The Message (Joey Negro Edit) (4:16)
B1 – Ricky Womack & Christian Essence – I Need You (Joey Negro Edit) (5:32)
B2 – Shirley Caesar – Heavenly Father (4:45)
C1 – Elbernita ‘Twinkle’ Clark – Awake O Zion (5:54)
C2 – The Clark Sisters – Overdose Of The Holy Ghost (4:23)
C3 – Kristle – I’ll Go (3:50)
D1 – The Young Delegation – He Lives (4:42)
D2 – Tommy T. & Company– – Anytime, Anyplace, Anywhere (4:08)

Additional information

Weight 0.50 kg

You may also like…