Various – Benji B Presents Deviation Classics (4 x 12″ Boxset)

£89.99 IN STOCK

Label: Deviation
Format: 4xLP box set + booklet + MP3 download code in spot-varnished box
Cat: DEV009
Released: 13 Apr 21
Media Condition: Mint (M)
Sleeve Condition: Mint (M)


Deviation Classics celebrates the legacy of the legendary London club night and record label created by Benji B and Judah in 2007. Famously “one of London’s most aurally audacious nights”, Benji B’s Deviation is a name synonymous with music and at the forefront of London’s culture scene and within music internationally.

The collector’s box includes four 12” vinyl featuring 20 carefully selected tracks, many of which have previously been unavailable on vinyl or hard to find and all capturing those key moments from the past 13 years.

Spanning all genres of music, the compilation comprises tracks from Carl Craig, Rick Wilhite, Joy Orbison, Waajeed, Flying Lotus and many more from across Deviation’s impressive roster of guests. Though several of the tracks went on to become hits, all of them became part of Deviation’s regular playlist and are now considered to be part of the Deviation DNA – a club night that has its own sound, its own hits and its own classics. The tracks highlight how the best club residencies can hone and shape their own identity, where reactions from the dance floor can influence which tracks make it into the resident sets to become future classics, and how a single tune can conjure the nostalgia of an era, venue, place and time.

Including regular staples from Benji B’s resident sets, the DJ comments: “This album showcases the tunes that got the biggest reactions month after month, drawn from my sets at Deviation over the years. They would not only be my choice, but also the choice of the Deviation regulars. Not all of these were necessarily big tunes outside of the club night – some would go on to be, but some could be 12-inch B-sides, album cuts or unreleased dubplates that went off when dropped for the very first time, and then became our own classics: all certified Deviation anthems in their own way” Full Tracks in the player *

A1 – Alice Smith – Love Endeavor (Maurice Fulton remix) (6:07)
A2 – Rick Wilhite – Ruby Nights (Gilb’r Solo Flight remix) (6:04)
A3 – The Detroit Experiment – Think Twice (6:18)
B2 – Zomby – Tarantula (4:09)
C1 – Langenberg – Times (Manuel Tur’s Ground Glass Reflex) (7:32)
C2 – Carl Craig – Sandstorms (C2 2011 Version) (9:08)
D1 – Lil Silva – Seasons (4:24)
D2 – DJ Spen presents DJ Technic – Gabryelle (D-Malice Re-Fix) (4:52)
D3 – Kingdom – Stalker Ha (3:49)
E1 – Mala – Lean Forward (5:31)
E2 – Martyn – Vancouver (5:14)
F1 – Joy Orbison – Hyph Mngo (5:28)
F2 – Pearson Sound – Stifle (5:56)
G1 – Baron Zen – Burn Rubber (Dâm-Funk remix) (4:55)
G2 – Waajeed – Tron (2:50)
G3 – Flying Lotus – Melt! (1:45)
G4 – 00Genesis – No Shoes Trampoline (2:11)
G5 – Dorian Concept – The Fucking Formula (2:44)
H1 – Azymuth – Morning (Manha) (3:48)
H2 – K. Frimpong & His Cubano Fiestas – Kyenkyen Bi Adi M’awu (4:23)

* Zomby – Tarantula and Joy Orbison – Hyph Mngo are exclusive to the vinyl version of this release. Short sample clips in the player.

Additional information

Weight 1.25 kg