Shep Pettibone – Mastermixes (2×12″)

£27.99 IN STOCK

Label: Salsoul UK
Format: sealed 2xLP
Released: 14 Feb 18
Media Condition: Mint (M)
Sleeve Condition: Mint (M)


Shep Pettibone – A name that commands the greatest of respect from DJ’s, diggers, dancers and music lovers across the galaxy. A name that has been emblazoned across so many club classics that the accompanying discography is simply dizzying. The underground Disco of groups like Aurra, First Choice and Candido and early 80’s experimental dubbed out club cuts of cult outfits like NV, Alisha and Carol Williams and even the heady pop chart successes of bands like Level 42, The Pet Shop Boys, Jermaine Jackson and many more, have all benefitted from Pettibone’s prowess behind the mixing boards. A true musical legend and the man who literally crafted the sounds and styles of almost 2 decades of club music back to back, Shep Pettibone’s pedigree can never be called in to question.

Salsoul Records thought a well programmed and thought out retrospective of this legends output was in order and this incredible collection of tracks is where we find ourselves. A stellar compilation across 2 heavyweight slabs of wax featuring of some of Pettibone’s finest works. Included you’ll find genre defining cuts like his mix of Loleatta Holloway’s ‘Love Sensation’, Salsoul Orchestra’s majestic ‘Love Break’ and First Choice’s anthemic ‘Let No Man Put Asunder’ alongside other Salsoul cuts from Weeks & Co, Instant Funk, Inner life and the legendary Leroy Burgess.

A truly essential package for the die-hard Disco aficionado or for those who are exploring this most important movement in dance music for the first time. Curated with the full input and backing of Salsoul Records and carefully selected to reflect the truly timeless nature of the music contained within. For listening, for dancing, for turning on a party!

Remastered by Optimum Mastering. Artwork & design by Million Dollar Disco. Fully authorised and approved by Shep Pettibone. Pure gold!

A1 – Loleatta Holloway – Love Sensation (Shep Pettibone 12″ Mix) (7:42)
A2 – The Salsoul Orchestra – Oooh I Love It (Love Break) (Shep Pettibone 12″ Mix) (7:40)
B1 – Candido – Jingo (Shep Pettibone Mix) (7:43)
B2 – Instant Funk – (Just Because) You’ll Be Mine (Shep Pettibone 12″ Mix) (5:48)
C1 – Inner Life – Moment Of My Life (Shep Pettibone Extended Mix) (7:38)
C2 – Leroy Burgess – Heartbreaker (Shep Pettibone 12″ Mix) (6:04)
D1 – First Choice – Let No Man Put Asunder (Shep Pettibone 12″ Mix) (8:00)
D2 – Weeks & Co. – Knock Knock (Shep Pettibone 12″ Master Dub Version) (6:24)

Additional information

Weight 0.50 kg