Rhythim Is Rhythim / Derrick May / Mayday – Innovator: Soundtrack For The Tenth Planet (2×12″)

£21.99 IN STOCK

Label: Network
Format: sealed 180 gram vinyl 2xLP
Cat: NWKT21R
Released: 07 Feb 20
Media Condition: Mint (M)
Sleeve Condition: Very Good Plus (VG+)

Only 2 left in stock


Seminal Detroit Techno LP. Originally released on a single 12″ with 3 tracks per side – this amazing reissue now comes as a double 12″ pack with an extra previously unreleased track.

When Network Records originally issued “Innovator” in 1991 they knew that the music contained within was timeless. At that time, of course, they had no grasp of how well Derrick’s epic soundscapes would time travel. They christened the collection – “Soundtrack For The Tenth Planet” – because it seemed like the music (and Derrick) had indeed arrived from another world.

The release has been acclaimed as iconic because Derrick, the madcap and maverick philosopher of Detroit Techno, introduced the concept of dance music with a musical and emotional agenda way beyond anything that had come before. Beats with beauty. Literally the strings of life. Where fellow musical geniuses Chic had previously urged everybody to simply “Dance, Dance, Dance” mood alchemist Mayday merged simple yet cerebral dreamscapes with strange and urgent complex dance rhythms and invited us all to Dance And Dream. And in a strange juxtaposed way helped birth the hedonistic Acid House scene with classics “Nude Photo” and “Strings Of Life”

The energy is frenetic, but merged with a new age ambience. The gems collected on this offering were iconic in 1991, now they cause mass hysteria when Derrick turns his one time musical experiments, created in a tiny room in Detroit, and turns them into epic concerts with orchestras and musicians across the globe. “Hand In Hand existed in 1991 and we wanted to release it then, but it’s taken until now for the complete 13 minute recording to finally meet the world”.

It will be revered, because like all of Derrick May’s music it is life affirming. Emotions Electric indeed.

The original “Innovator” release was housed on one single slab of wax. This time around the label have expanded it to two discs to make space for “Hand Over Hand” and also so everything elsewhere – masterpieces remastered – can be presented in a complete and superior fashion. Whatever the tweaks, changes and updates etc all these years on, this music still sounds gloriously alien and groundbreaking. But there’s still no Tenth Planet.

Sticker on front on sleeve reads: first vinyl issue of Hand Over Hand, 180 gram

A1. Remastered 7:12 min version of ‘The Dance – Living Room Mix’ (1987).
A2. Remastered 7:36 min version of original ‘Strings Of Life’ (1987).
B1. Remastered 6:56 min version of ‘Beyond The Dance – Cult Mix’ (1989).
B2. Remastered 6:35 min version of ‘Sinister – Trolley Mix’ (1989).
C1. Remastered 5:28 min version of original ‘Wiggin’ (1988).
C2. Remastered 5:53 min version of original ‘Nude Photo’ (1987).
D1. Previously unreleased on vinyl. Full length 13 min version.

Pure fire. Electronic soul at it’s very best.

Notes: VG+ sleeve because of some minor damage to corners of the cover. Photos can be supplied on request.

Additional information

Weight 0.50 kg