Portishead – Dummy LP

£19.99 IN STOCK

Label: Go Beat
Format: sealed heavyweight 180g vinyl LP
Cat: 828 5221 / 8285211 / 828 522 – 1
Released: 22 Aug 94
Reissued: 21 Nov 13 / 2017
Media Condition: Mint (M)
Sleeve Condition: Mint (M)

Only 1 left in stock


Portishead’s Dummy is a classic in no uncertain terms. Released in 1994, this ground breaking and timeless album is dark, beautiful, and ethereal all at the same time. Over 2 decades later, this highly acclaimed album is still regarded by many as one of The favourites of all time.

Winner of the 1995 Mercury Music Prize. With its smoked out beats, eerie instrumentation, edgy sampling, and haunting vocals, this LP should be part of any decent record collection.

An essential piece of UK music history for all fans of DJ Shadow, Massive Attack, Nightmares On Wax, Tricky, Radiohead, etc, etc.

A1 – Mysterons (4:56)
A2 – Sour Times (4:05)
A3 – Strangers (3:49)
A4 – It Could Be Sweet (4:10)
A5 – Wandering Star (4:46)

B1 – Numb (3:43)
B2 – Roads (4:56)
B3 – Pedestal (3:30)
B4 – Biscuit (4:34)
B5 – Glory Box (4:49)

Written by Arian Utley, Beth Gibbons, and Geoff Barrow. Other musicians include:
Drums – Clive Deamer // Electric Piano [Rhodes], Organ [Hammond] – Neil Solman // Drum Programming [Drum Programme] – Richard Newell // Organ [Hammond] – Gary Baldwin] // Nose Flute – Dave Mc Donald // Strings – Strings Unlimited // Trumpet – Andy Hague.

Recorded at State Of Art and Coach House Studios, Bristol with additional mixing at Moles Studio, Bath.

A2 samples Lalo Schifrin from “The Danube Incident” courtesy of Warner Chappell Music/MCA Records. Smokey Brookes from “Spin-It Jig” courtesy of Goldmine Soul Supply.
A3 samples Weather Report from “Elegant People” courtesy of MCA Music/Sony Music Entertainment Inc.
A5 contains portions of “Magic Mountain” as performed by Eric Burdon & War courtesy of Avenue Records / Polygram Music Publishing.
B4 samples Johnnie Ray from “I’ll Never Fall In Love Again” courtesy of Carlyle Music Publishing/Sony Music Entertainment Inc.
B5 samples Isaac Hayes from “Ike’s Rap II” courtesy of Rondor Music (London) Ltd./Under License from Fantasy Inc.

A1: 82 | B1: 78
A2: 94 | B2: 76
A3: 84 | B3: 84
A4: 77 | B4: 68
A5: 80 | B5: 60

Portishead’s Geoff Barrow and Adrian Utley Breakdown Dummy 25 Years Later – Interview

Additional information

Weight 0.25 kg