Kamaal Williams – Wu Hen LP (Red Vinyl)


Label: Black Focus
Format: limited red vinyl LP + MP3 download code in spot-varnished sleeve
Cat: BFR007LPR
Released: 24 Jul 20


Wu Hen is the sophomore album from South London’s Kamaal Williams — an invitation to elevate to a higher state. Cinematic strings from Miguel-Atwood Ferguson and virtuoso saxophone from Quinn Mason are textural additions that make for a deeper, multi-layered experience than previous releases.

Williams proclaims “We learnt Jazz in the streets, not in the classroom”, an apt statement since the artist’s core influences include hip hop, grime, UK garage and house, whilst overlapping with 70’s funk, soul and jazz for a fusion he describes as “Wu Funk”. Affirmed on his recent edition of the legendary DJ Kicks series at the end of 2019.

New players on this record include LA’s Greg Paul on drums (of Kalayst Collective), Rick Leon James on bass, Quinn Mason on saxophone alongside vocal features from cult rapper Mach-Hommy and Kaytranada collaborator Lauren Faith. Brainfeeder aficionado Miguel Atwood-Ferguson, who has frequently worked with Flying Lotus contributes his signature strings that add vivid colours and wouldn’t sound out of place on a Scott Walker record.

Kamaal rose to prominence with the hugely acclaimed Yussef Kamaal alongside drummer Yussef Dayes and a catalogue of 12”s for imprints such as MCDE, Eglo, and Rhythm Section as Henry Wu that became essential DJ tools. In 2018 he launched Black Focus Records with the Kamaal Williams debut The Return, which charted in the UK and saw sold out shows and festival appearances across Europe, North America and Asia.

Available on CD, black LP and – exclusive to independent retailers – red coloured vinyl. Vinyl formats include a download card.

Vinyl Tracklist:
A1 – Street Dreams
A2 – One More Time / 1989
A3 – Toulouse / Pigalle
B1 – Big Rick / Save Me
B2 – Mr. Wu
B3 – Hold On
B4 – Early Prayer

Additional information

Weight 0.25 kg