Al Kent – Disco Demands Part Six (3xLP)

£24.99 IN STOCK

Label: BBE
Format: sealed limited 3xLP + insert
Cat: BBE432CLP
Released: 13 Feb 20
Media: Mint (M)
Sleeve: Mint (M)


Pure fire from Al Kent!

Scotland’s foremost Disco aficionado and founder of the Million Dollar Orchestra returns to BBE Music with a 6th volume of his famed ‘Disco Demands’ compilation series. And it’s an absolute killer!

With all previous editions of ‘Disco Demands’ released as CDs on Al’s ‘Million Dollar Disco’ label, in 2012 BBE were delighted to release ‘The Best Of Disco Demands‘ across two glorious double vinyl albums. Taking the next step on the ‘Disco Demands’ journey in partnership, Volume 6 sees another incredible selection of obscure dance-floor soul selected and edited by Al Kent, fully licensed from the original artists, remastered and ready for a new generation of fans to discover.

Recorded during the late 70s and early 80s, the records chosen for Disco Demands Part Six may be hard to find, but don’t be confused: they have been selected solely for maximum dance-floor enjoyment. Al’s love of powerful string arrangements and bass-line led grooves are evident not only in his picks, but also in his subtle edits; removing any hint of cheese and extending the particularly effective instrumental sections to cause mayhem on the floor. Trust me, you need this.

“Most of the tracks I’ve chosen for this album have been with me for some time – I’ve played them on and off as a DJ for years. And though that might seem like a lazy or selfish option when compiling an album, it also fits nicely with the concept that the album is primarily aimed at DJs and dancers. I’ve seen first hand how a crowd reacts to these choices. I’ve bought the records, rearranged the best bits and tested them on a room full of dancing drunks so you can confidently do the same…” – Al Kent, 2019

A1 – Ava Cherry – You Never Loved Me (Al Kent edit) (12:13)
B1 – King Sporty & The Root Rockers – Fire Keep On Burning (Al Kent edit) (8:41)
B2 – George McCrae – Givin’ Back The Feeling (Al Kent edit) (6:54)
C1 – Tangerué – Doin’ Your Own Thing (Al Kent edit) (7:52)
D1 – Jo Bisso – I Wanna Love (Al Kent edit) (7:49)
D2 – J.D. Hall – Wonder Woman (Al Kent edit) (6:43)
E1 – Grupo Macho – San Salvador (Al Kent edit) (10:25) (vinyl exclusive)
F1 – Phillip & Lloyd – Keep On Moving (Al Kent edit) (7:20)
F2 – Southroad Connection – You Like It We Love It (Al Kent edit) (7:52)

Additional information

Weight 0.75 kg
Dimensions 0.0 × 0.0 × 0.0 cm